Governor Abbott Orders Schools to Remain Closed Until May 4 - Read more

Archived Meeting Minutes

Monday, January 19, 2004

  1. Call to Order and Establish Quorum
  2. Pledge of Allegiance (United States and Texas)
  3. Invocation-given by The Rev. Nathaniel Hankins
  4. Public Comment-none at this time
  5. Adjourn to Closed Session in accordance with:
      551.074 Texas Government Code
    1. Discuss employee discipline, duties, resignations,
      reassignments, new hires, and evaluations-
      the board did not adjourn to executive session
  6. Action Agenda Items-
    1. Presentations were made by Dr. Pugh and Dr. Oates, Facilities Planner.
      Comments were given by Task Force members Sally Ayana, Rose Dominguez, Eric Sanchez, and Glenn Hayes. Public comment was
      given by Nathaniel Hankins, J.B. Hall, Sabino Garcia, Janis Baucom,
      Nicholas Urteaga, Carla Jones, Denise Barber, Cookie Roberts, Bob
      Paschal, Ray Zapata, Floyd Crider, Jon Mark Hogg, Leigh Wallace,
      Cheryl Kendrick, Tommy Navarro, Mary Owens, Beth Thompson,
      Lee Pope, Barbara Martinez, Donald Pope, Ella Mae Johnson, Leroy
      Broadnax, Girard Gallegos, Chris Trubenstein, Paula Hayes, and
      Julie Stewart.

      (a) Consider Recommendations of Facility Task Force Regarding School Consolidations
      (b) Consider Adjusting Elementary Attendance Zones
      (c) Consider Authorizing Continuation of Long Range Facilities Planning
      No action was taken on any of these items.
  7. Announcements
    1. Regular School Board of Trustees Meeting
      Tuesday, January 20, 2004, 5:30 p.m.,
      SAISD Board Room
    2. Regular School Board of Trustees Meeting
      February 17, 2004, 5:30 p.m.
  8. Adjournment

Prepared by Jamie Highsmith, Public Information Officer