Governor Abbott Orders Schools to Remain Closed Until May 4 - Read more

CHS Theatre Troupe Takes Top Honors at State

December 2, 2010

Central High School Theatre Troupe 3440 earned the designation of All Star Troupe at the Texas Thespians State Festival in Corpus Christi, November 17-20.

In individual competition, Audrey Barrett qualified as a finalist in monologues and was ranked in the top ten students competing at the festival.

The following students received superior ratings and qualified for nationals in performance: Savannah Logsdon, solo musical; Abi Smith and Rylan Oaks, duet musical scene; and Audrey Barrett, monologue. These students will compete in Lincoln, Nebraska during the International Thespian Festival, June 20-25.

The following group competitors received excellent ratings: Krystee Love and Chloe Casey - duet scene; Daniel Esco, Hannah King and Aly Engel - group scene; Colleen Babb, Mikaeli Mayberry, Cassidy Mayfield and Katie Graham - costume construction team; Leah Perez, Desiree' Townes, Meghan Rogers and Chloe Husted - makeup design team; and Caitlyn Horn, Tom Zimmerman, Brittany Patterson and Tore Anderson - Texas Techie Relay team.

CHS was also chosen to perform a chapter select play during the festival. Senior Lauren McCollum directed Dinner with the McGuffins for an audience of over 100 theatre students from across the state. Cast and crew included Savannah Logsdon, Tara Corder, Ben Paz, Daniel Esco, Aly Engel, Desiree' Townes, Cameron O'Briant, Ben Kindel, Cassidy Mayfield, and Hannah King. In addition, Sarah Phillips and Krystee Love were chosen for call-backs in scholarship performance auditions. Original plays by Holly Gonzales and Seth Low were recognized in the student playwriting competition.

Laura Smith is the CHS Theatre Director.